The Academy’s Scholarships have been established through benefits, memorial gifts, bequests and foundational grants to make it possible for deserving students to attend our Full-Time Conservatory Program.

Academy students are fortunate to benefit from the generosity of these exceptional individuals and organizations that support The Academy’s mission and recognize the importance of acting as a craft and its power to change the world for the better with each new generation.


Accepted applicants will be automatically considered for the scholarships listed below. There is no need for applicants to apply separately for each Scholarship.

The Alumni Fellow Scholarship was established in 2003 in New York to encourage gifts by and in honor of Academy alumni.

The Barbara Moore Jordan Scholarship was established in memory of Barbara Moore Jordan, Class of 1954, by her family, to help young people achieve their goals in the dramatic arts.

The Brenda Forbes Scholarship was derived from a bequest by the distinguished British-born actress.

The Cecil B. DeMille Scholarship honors the legacy of the renowned American filmmaker, alumnus from the Class of 1900 and admired "founding father" of the Hollywood film industry.

The Charles Jehlinger Scholarship, created with gifts from administrators and senior faculty of The Academy Los Angeles honors the memory of Charles Jehlinger, The Academy's Director of Instruction for over 50 years.

The Class of 1983 Scholarship was created by graduates and funded through a series of alumni-produced and directed performances. The scholarship provides financial assistance to first and second-year students with financial need.

The Cleavon Little Scholarship, created through a campaign led by alumnus Judd Hirsch, provides assistance to minority students in memory of Cleavon Little, Class of 1967.

The Dina Merrill Scholarship Fund was derived from a Gala Tribute in honor of Academy alumna Dina Merrill in April of 2005.

The Frances Fuller Scholarship was established in memory of actress Frances Fuller, Class of 1928, a former Director of The Academy.

The Franklin Haven Sargent Scholarship was derived from the estate of The Academy's founder.

The Gail Ann Lowe Maidman Scholarship honors the memory and spirit of Gail Ann Lowe Maidman. The scholarship supports a deserving third year student in completing his or her training at The Academy.

The Garson Kanin Scholarship was established in honor of Garson Kanin, Class of 1937, from the Estate of Garson Kanin at the request of his widow and famed stage actress Marian Seldes. Designated for second-year students on the New York campus.

The George Nichols III Scholarship was derived from a bequest by a member of The Academy's Board of Trustees, and from memorial gifts made in his honor.

The Gordon A. Rust Scholarship was derived from a bequest by a longtime member of The Academy's Board of Trustees.

The Grace Kelly Scholarship was made possible by a grant from the Princess Grace Foundation-USA in memory of Grace Kelly, Class of 1949.

The Greta Nissen Scholarship was established in memory of the Norwegian-born silent film actress, to provide assistance to female students.

The Harryetta Peterka Scholarship was established by family, friends, colleagues, alumni and trustees in memory of Harryetta Peterka, Class of 1958, who served The Academy and its students as an acting teacher, play director and Director of Instruction.

The Henrietta Alice Metcalf Memorial Scholarship For Drama was established through a bequest by Addison Metcalf, in memory of his mother, a life-long devotee of the theatre.

The Hume Cronyn Scholarship honors Hume Cronyn, Class of 1934.

The Jack Melanos and Bill MacDougall Scholarship was established by a generous bequest from Jack Melanos, former New York Academy instructor, play director and head of the Saturday Program for over 35 years. Designated for second-year students in New York and Los Angeles.

The John Peck Scholarship was established by a bequest from the long-time member of the faculty and Head of the Vocal Production Department in Los Angeles.

The Julie Harris Scholarship honors the distinguished actress, and was made possible in part by a grant from Hallmark Cards, Inc.

The Kirk Douglas Scholarship honors Kirk Douglas, Class of 1941.

The Legend's Scholarship is given in honor of three distinguished Academy alumni: Anne Bancroft, Charles Durning and Gena Rowlands.

The Madelin Thayer Gilpatric Scholarship, derived from a bequest, honors the memory of a devoted member of The Academy's Board of Trustees.

The Neil Simon Scholarship honors the distinguished playwright.

The Patricia Grube Scholarship was established by a bequest from Ms. Grube, an alumna of the Class of 1948.

The Philip Loeb Scholarship was established in memory of Philip Loeb, Class of 1916, actor and member of The Academy's faculty. The scholarship was made possible by a grant from Sol and Rose Feinstone, parents of Ezra Stone, Class of 1935.

The Rising Actor Scholarship supports the young artists who display an early interest in studying at The Academy while fostering a growing community of up and coming actors.

The Samuel Freeman Scholarship was endowed by the Samuel Freeman Charitable Trust.

The Spencer Tracy Scholarship was created through the efforts of Miss Katharine Hepburn in memory of Spencer Tracy, Class of 1923.

The Suzanne Powers Scholarship was established by Susan Towles Schleicher, Class of 1923, known professionally as Suzanne Powers.

The Thelma Carter Memorial Scholarship Fund was established with memorial gifts in honor of former New York Academy Director of Instruction, Thelma Carter.

The William Randolph Hearst Scholarship is endowed by the Hearst Foundation with the mission to ensure that underprivileged and minority students have opportunities in education.

Annual Scholarship Support